Ministry of Commerce & Industry



Posted On: 17 DEC 2021 4:26PM by PIB Delhi

India-Mauritius Comprehensive Economic Cooperation and Partnership Agreement (CECPA) is the only Free Trade Agreement (FTA) that India has entered into in the last 5 years.  It was signed on 22.02.2021 and implemented w.e.f. 01.04.2021. Mauritius is located in the continent of Africa.

The continent-wise details of FTAs that India is currently negotiating are as follows:



Continent Countries/Regions Name of the Agreement
1 Asia UAE India-UAE CEPA
2 Asia Israel India – Israel Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
3 Asia/Europe Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia India-Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
4 Europe United Kingdom India-UK Enhanced Trade Partnership (ETP)
5 Europe European Union India – EU Broad Based Trade and Investment Agreement (BTIA)
6 North America Canada India – Canada Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement
7 Australia Australia India – Australia Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA)
8 Africa South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland and Namibia India – SACU PTA

It is a continuous endeavor to conclude the negotiations at the earliest. However, deadline for completion of an FTA negotiation cannot be predicted as an agreement is reached only when all negotiating countries are satisfied with the outcome.

A chapter on Trade in Services is included in most of the trade agreements of India.This chapter includes an Annexure/Chapter on Movement of Natural Persons which provides disciplines on facilitating and streamlining the procedures for the temporary entry and stay of service suppliers.

This information was given by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Smt. Anupriya Patel, in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.


Spread the love