Group of Ministers (GoM) constituted on issues relating to lottery

In pursuance of decision in the 32nd Meeting of GST Council held on 10th January, 2019 at New Delhi, a Group of Ministers (GoM) on issues relating to lottery has been constituted.

The ‘GoM for Lottery’ shall consist of the following:

Sl. No.NameDesignation and State
1Shri Sudhir MungantiwarFinance Minister, Government of MaharashtraConvener
2Dr. T.M. Thomas IsaacFinance Minister, Government of KeralaMember
3Dr. Amit MitraFinance Minister, Government of West BengalMember
4Dr. Himanta Biswa SarmaFinance Minister, Government of AssamMember
5Shri Mauvin GodinhoMinister of Panchayat, Government of GoaMember
6Shri Manpreet Singh BadalFinance Minister, Government of PunjabMember
7Shri Krishna Byre GowdaFinance Minister, Government of KarnatakaMember
8Shri Jarkar GamlinMinister, Taxes and Excise, Government of Arunachal PradeshMember

            The Terms of Reference (ToR) for the GoM for lottery shall be as follows:

  1. Whether the disparity in tax structure on the same product/commodity be continued or a uniform rate be prescribed for both;
  2. Whether private persons authorized by the States are misusing the lower rate and getting enriched themselves at the cost of the State and suggest measures to curb it;
  3. Examine any other issue related to enforcement including the legal frame work, so as to prevent evasion of tax on lottery and suggest appropriate tax rate to address the problem;
  4. The GoM on issues relating to lottery shall be assisted by a Committee of officers from the Centre and the States as convened by the GoM;
  5. Secretary of the GoM on issues relating to lottery shall be Shri Manish Sinha, Joint Secretary (TRU-II), CBIC;
  6. The GoM for lottery shall submit its report to GST Council in next Meeting for consideration of the GST Council
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *